Breakfast in Russia, to blaring beats

Don’t you hate it when you’re listening to the radio and an especially annoying song comes on but there’s nothing you can really do but sit there and listen to it? It happens to me a lot here in Peter. At every meal, as a matter of fact.

See, Russians love their pop music, which is similar to Europop, according to my Estonian-American friend Deniz, who’s a DJ himself: Pop melodies over a house beat, with early trance and electro-house influences thrown in for good measure.

“It’s best to give examples,” Deniz adds. “Say Cascada, ‘Everytime We Touch’.”

At almost any café, bar, or restaurant, you’re sure to be bombarded with a never-ending stream of Russian and European pop music, all day, every day.

There really is no escape; even the bathroom at iClub, where I get my Internet fix, has a speaker over the toilet.

And so I start my day to the blaring beats playing at breakfast in the café every morning.  At least it wakes me up/makes me feel like I’m eating on the dance floor of a club.

2 Responses to “Breakfast in Russia, to blaring beats”

  1. I really don’t know what you’re griping about Alec… I think speakers blasting dancey-pop music in bathrooms is a brilliant idea! 😉 In fact, my guess is that you’re going to miss it once you’re back home. JK

  2. We shocked about you post about russian music. And about iClub toilet room ^_^

Leave a Reply

